Review: Perfectly Imperfect By: Harper Sloan 

Review: Perfectly Imperfect By: Harper Sloan
Amazon Link:http://www.amazon.com/Perfectly-Imperfect-Harper-Sloan-ebook/dp/B017O4W3V8/ref=sr_1_1_twi_kin_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1447767930&sr=8-1&keywords=perfectly+imperfect+harper+sloan

  
This book is one of those amazing, once in a lifetime book. Just when you think that a romance book can’t change your outlook something like this comes along. I, like the character in this story have dealt with some body issues and like Willow, I did not deal with it well. So needless to say reading this book was a little difficult at points because it hit way too close to home. But also like the character in this book I have found that one man to make that voice in your head that says “you aren’t – pretty enough, or skinny enough . . . etc” be silent. that’s not to say you have to absolutely have a man to quiet that voice. The first step I had to take was being okay with me on my own before I could be with anyone else. And Willow’s story was the same, she had to want to change her thinking for herself first, Zane just became a second voice to tell her that to him she was the celebrity and a stunningly beautiful person. I think that’s why it was such a powerful story to me but I’m sure so many other women out there. 

I’m not going to give you a blow by blow of this story because I believe it’s one of those you have to experience for yourself. I went into this one blind, I knew it was going to be excellent because well duh, Harper wrote it. But as far as how powerful it was going to be was a mystery to me. I’m so glad I got to experience this book that way. I will tell you this. We get lots of funny moments with Willow and her friends, and then we get moments with Zane that will melt your heart. It offsets Willow’s self doubt and image issues, and that kept me reading,

If it was all dark I don’t know if I could have finished it. There is a change from the Willow we see at the beginning of the book to the Willow we see at the end. And that is my favorite part of the whole story because that’s when the title all makes sense. Each of us is perfect just as we are! And we as women need to keep each other strong and not tear each other down. Just think of the change we could see in the world. So I know I will be recommending this book to all the women in my life and it’s on the top of my books to gift for the holidays list. And also one that I have requested a print copy of for Christmas myself! It’s that good! 

Leave a Reply

