Review: Riptide By: Kinsey Corwin 
Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01K3TID6U/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1496356242&sr=1-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=riptide+kinsey+corwin&dpPl=1&dpID=514fUcLCiLL&ref=plSrch


Available on Kindle Unlimited 

When the weather starts to get warm I find myself with a craving for books with a beachy,  sand and surf and sun kind of vibe to it and I was immediately drawn to this one! The cover and the blurb drew me in and while I don’t usually purchase books I can get on Kindle Unlimited something told me I needed this book! So I plunked down my 99 pennies and dove in! Now,  let me tell you it was the best dollar I have spent in a LONG time!  
First thing I noticed was the descriptive writing style! If I have one kryptonite it is a descriptive writing style.  . . If you can make me experience the story on a more sensory level then you have gained a fan for life and this book is tops in the game for evoking sights,  smells and how the wind feels ghosting over your skin as you stand by the ocean.  So by the third page I was invested in this story as more than a beachy read,  it was an experience.  
Secondly — these characters! Just wow! Hunter is this complex character and watching his development from chapter one  then going into chapter 2 where the story jumps ahead 2 years is displayed very well,  there is a specific shift in his personality and it really sets up the dynamic between himself and Phoenix — I loved her blunt,  no holds barred almost snarky attitude.  We gradually discover there is a reason she is the way she is as well and the pacing for both characters is so well done that it just flows organically.  (You know what I mean,  in some stories it feels like when you go to peeling back the layers of character information and backstory sometimes it feels forced and with Hunter and Phoenix it just flows and it is becuase its honest with their characters) 
There are some deep issues in this novel and despite those heavy moments there is such a impressive story that I couldn’t stop thinking about after I finished it. It deals with a lot more than just love and romance haha while that is a aspect, the finding what drives you, what makes your heart beat faster and that question of could you leave everything you worked hard for behind. I love how honest it was about those things, people change, goals change and the evolution of a person is always quite the journey to read about. 
I would highly recommend this book to fans of the extreme sports genre , the new adult genre  and for fans of Rebecca Yarros’s Renegades series! 

